9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|  
Report Content as Inappropriate

Essential clothing

Dave Foote 3426
Hi All

Can anybody advise on the best gear to go for?  (by "best" I mean in terms of both value and performance)

Since we now almost have a boat to sail, we need to get equipped.  

Firstly weatherproof stuff:  (Any answers can exclude wetsuits as we have then already.)  I would most appreciate advice about the sort of two piece "coastal" suits that seem common.  I have never used such a thing before.

Secondly lifejackets to suit the female form.  My wife has found that the common style of inflating lifejacket does not sit comfortably on the "upper body" - I am sure that there must be many other ladies who have faced a similar challenge?  Is there a good one out there?

Final point is that I am tall, and my wife average in height.

Many thanks

Dave
Reply | Threaded
|  

Re: Essential clothing

John Lidstone 1503

Hi Dave,

This was my personal experience-

My wife found the same problem and finally settled on a Plastimo self inflating. I can only suggest that you keep trying different ones on.

I went for unlined salopettes because I was wading knee deep to beach the dinghy (12inch draught) and these drain and dry quicker. Lined will be easier to get on and warmer for serious coastal work if you really need it.

I am 6 ft / 85kg and found that Gill tend to suit taller thinner people.

John

From: Dave Foote 3426 [via DCA Forum] <ml-node+[hidden email]>
Sent: 14 March 2017 10:55
To: John Lidstone 1503
Subject: Essential clothing

Hi All

Can anybody advise on the best gear to go for?  (by "best" I mean in terms of both value and performance)

Firstly weatherproof stuff:  (Any answers can exclude wetsuits as we have then already.)  I would most appreciate advice about the sort of two piece "coastal" suits that seem common.  I have never used such a thing before.