5 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|  
Report Content as Inappropriate

Preparing a Gull for cruising

jocasam [Steve Pollard]
Hi,
I have a 2 year old Gull dinghy (GRP) which I want to set up for cruising and wondered if there are any other members already cruising Gulls who could advise me. Don't really want to reinvent the wheel. I'd daysail initially but would like to be able to overnight and join a group sail in the not too distant future.
Cheers,
Steve Pollard
Cheers,
Steve
Reply | Threaded
|  

Re: Preparing a Gull for cruising

John Hughes 2457
Steve,
I have no experience of the Gull but I do recall there is an article in the Archive that describes a south coast cruise in one, written by Jack Whitby, dating from 1966. I post it here for your interest. There is a single paragraph at the end that describes some practical arrangements.
Very best,
John

The overnight forecast, as I slept in the Club House at Netley (Southampton Water) was dry, cold, with a Northerly force 3-4 wind. High water was at 4.48 B.S.T.

By 9.30 I was afloat; with some sunshine and a moderate N.E, wind. Roughly an hour later, off Calshot, I picked up the first of the east going stream and the wind freshened a little. By 1 p.m. I had passed outside Horse sand Fort and was hove-to enjoying much needed coffee and sandwiches. It was now grey and rather cold with a lumpy sea. A newly fitted ratchet sheet-block certainly removed some of the hard work in beating, but I was not too happy about its quick release mechanism and decided to replace it when I reached more sheltered water.
I began to beat up towards Chichester Harbour listening for the 1.55 shipping forecast on the little waterproofed transistor in my tunic pocket, Suddenly what